From its beginnings in 1916, the Optical Society has dedicated a special category of membership to individuals who have made unique, unparalleled contributions to the fi eld of optics. This column highlights the careers of four optical pioneers who became honorary members during the 1950s: Frits Zernike (1954), Charles Edward Kenneth Mees (1957), Thomas Smith (1957) and William F. Meggers (1958).

© 2008 Optical Society of America

PDF Article

Cited By

OSA participates in Crossref's Cited-By Linking service. Citing articles from OSA journals and other participating publishers are listed here.

Alert me when this article is cited.