From its beginnings in 1916, the Optical Society has designated a special category of membership to individuals who have made unique, unparalleled contributions to the field of optics. This column highlights the careers of five optical pioneers who became honorary members in the 1940s and 1950s: Theodore Lyman (1941), C.V. Raman (1941), R.W. Wood (1944), R.A. Millikan (1950) and Arnold Sommerfeld (1950).

© 2007 Optical Society of America

PDF Article

Cited By

OSA participates in Crossref's Cited-By Linking service. Citing articles from OSA journals and other participating publishers are listed here.

Alert me when this article is cited.