Expand this Topic clickable element to expand a topic
OSA Publishing

The Optical Society (OSA) publishes high-quality, peer-reviewed articles in its portfolio of journals, which serve the full breadth of the optics and photonics community.

Optical Materials Express (OMEx), OSA's open-access, rapid-review journal, primarily emphasizes advances in novel optical materials, their properties, modeling, synthesis and fabrication approaches for optics and photonics; how such materials contribute to novel optical behavior; and how they enable new or improved optical devices. The journal covers a full range of topics, including, but not limited to:

  • Artificially engineered structures
  • Biomaterials
  • Detector materials
  • Optical storage media
  • Materials for integrated optics
  • Nonlinear optical material
  • Laser materials
  • Metamaterials
  • Nanomaterials
  • Organics and polymers
  • Soft material
  • IR materials
  • Materials for fiber optics
  • Hybrid technologies
  • Materials for quantum photonics

Optical Materials Express considers original research articles, feature issue contributions, invited reviews and comments on published articles.

Submission Information

Is my paper appropriate for Optical Materials Express? Read about all OSA journals here.

Please see the Author Resource Center for instructions to prepare and submit a manuscript.


Key Journal Metrics

Impact Factor: 2.591*
5-Year Impact Factor: 2.857*
Google Scholar h5-index: 41 (ranked 17th out of 20 top journals)
Median Time to Publication: 62 days

*According to Optics category rankings in the 2016 Journal Citation Reports® (Clarivate Analytics, 2017)
June 2017 Google Scholar Optics & Photonics Top Publications.

For more information on Journal metrics, click here.

Editorial Board

Alexandra Boltasseva,
Purdue University, USA

Deputy Editor
Juejun Hu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Associate Editors
Ivan Biaggio, Lehigh University, USA
Alan Bristow, West Virginia University, USA
Heike Ebendorff-Heidepriem, The University of Adelaide, Australia
Maria Farsari, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece
Stavroula Foteinopoulou, University of New Mexico, USA
Stephen Foulger, Clemson University, USA
Newton Frateschi, Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil
Mark Fox, University of Sheffield, UK
Sunao Kurimura, National Institute for Materials Science, Japan
Joris Lousteau, University of Southampton, UK
Christos Markos, DTU Fotonik, Denmark
Daniel Milanese, Politechnico di Torino, Italy
Natalia Noginova, Norfolk State University, USA
Nicolae Panoiu, UCL, UK
Jong Hyeok Park, Yonsei University, S. Korea
Peter Pauzauskie, University of Washington, USA
John Prineas, University of Iowa, USA
Alessandro Salandrino, University of Kansas, USA
Kenneth Schepler, CREOL, The College of Optics & Photonics, University of Central Florida, USA
Xing Sheng, Tsinghua University, China
Philippe Smet, University of Ghent, Belgium
Fabien Sorin, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), France
Victor Ya. Zyryanov, Kirensky Institute of Physics, Russia


Editorial and Production E-mail Phone
Keith Jackson, Peer Review Coordinator omex@osa.org 202-416-1414
Feature proposals dmcdonold@osa.org
Sarah Walker, Managing Editor swalker@osa.org 202-416-1482
Article processing charges billing@osa.org

General Information
Copyright permission requests copyright@osa.org
Online Journal Technical Support elec@osa.org
Elizabeth Nolan, Chief Publishing Officer
Alison Taylor, Executive Director
M. Scott Dineen, Senior Director, Publishing, Production & Technology
Jennifer Mayfield, Deputy Senior Director, Electronic Publications
Timothy Fincham, Associate Director, Production and Technology
Dan McDonold, Editorial Director
Select as filters

    Select Topics Cancel
    © Copyright 2018 | The Optical Society. All Rights Reserved