OSA Publishing

Optics Letters offers rapid dissemination of new results in all areas of optics with short, original, peer-reviewed communications. Optics Letters covers the latest research in optical science, including optical measurements, optical components and devices, atmospheric optics, biomedical optics, Fourier optics, integrated optics, optical processing, optoelectronics, lasers, nonlinear optics, optical storage and holography, optical coherence, polarization, quantum electronics, ultrafast optical phenomena, photonic crystals, and fiber optics. Criteria used in determining acceptability of contributions include newsworthiness to a substantial part of the optics community and the effect of rapid publication on the research of others. This journal, published twice each month, is where readers look for the latest discoveries in optics.

Submission Information

Is my paper appropriate for Optics Letters? Read about all OSA journals here.

Please see the Author Resource Center for instructions to prepare and submit a manuscript.


Key Journal Metrics

Impact Factor: 3.292*
Total Citations: 55,580 (ranked 3rd out of 86 journals)*
EigenFactor Score: 0.12733 (ranked 4th out of 86 journals)*
Median Time to Web Publication: 70 days
*According to Optics category rankings in the 2015 Journal Citation Reports® (Thomson Reuters, 2015)

For more information on Journal metrics, click here.

Editorial Board

Xi-Cheng Zhang,
University of Rochester (USA)

Deputy Editors
Peter Andersen, Technical University of Denmark
Andrea Galtarossa, University of Padova
Edward Whittaker, Stevens Institute of Technology (Spectroscopy)
Topical Editors and Content Areas
Brian Applegate, Texas A&M University (Biomedical Optics)
Andrea Armani, University of Southern California (Integrated Optics)
Benfeng Bai, Tsinghua University (nano-photonics and plasmonics)
John Ballato, Clemson University (Spectroscopy and Optical Materials)
Ole Bang, Technical University of Denmark (General Optics and Optical Design)
Randy A. Bartels, Colorado State University (Ultrafast Optics and Spectroscopy)
Marco Bellini, Instituto Nazionale di Ottica—CNR (Ultrafast and Highly Nonlinear Optics, and Quantum Optics)
Antonella Bogoni, CNIT (Fiber optics and optical communications)
Riccardo Borghi, Universiá degli Studi "Roma Tre" (propagation, polarization, scattering, and coherence)
Benoit Boulanger, Institut Néel CNRS (Nonlinear and Quantum Optics, Material Engineering)
Misha Brodsky, AT&T Labs (Quantum Optics; Optical Communications)
Daniel Thomas Cassidy, McMaster University (DFB, Quantum Well, and External Cavity Diode Lasers)
Zhigang Chen, San Francisco State University (Nonlinear optics and photonics, Optical manipulation, Solitons and Chaos)
Gabriella Cipparrone, University of Calabria, Rende (Liquid Crystal and Related Nonlinear Optics)
Charles DiMarzio, Northeastern University (Microscopy)
Fabio Di Teodoro, The Aerospace Corporation (Fiber Lasers, Amplifiers, and remote sensing)
Pietro Ferraro, Istituto di Cibernetica (CNR) (Microscopy, Materials Characterization, and Phase Imaging)
Goëry Genty, Tampere University of Technology (Integrated Optics and Nonlinear Optics)
Mircea D. Guina, Tampere University of Technology, Finland (semiconductor lasers)
Sivanandan S. Harilal, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (Laser Spectroscopy, Plasma Spectroscopy, Atomic and Molecular Spectroscopy)
L. Michael Hayden, University of Maryland—Baltimore County (Nonlinear Optics; THz Generation)
Jian-Jun He, Zhejiang University (Semiconductor Lasers, Opto-electronics and Integrated Optics)
Xiaoyong Hu, Peking University (Ultrafast Nonlinear Optics)
Yaroslav Kartashov, Institute of Spectroscopy, Russian Academy of Sciences (Nonlinear optics, Diffraction, and Beam propagation)
DaiSik Kim, Seoul National University (Nano-photonics, Plasmonics, and Metamaterials)
Olga Korotkova, University of Miami (Light Propagation, Coherence, and Polarization)
Dietmar Kracht, Laser Zentrum Hannover (Lasers, Ultrafast Lasers, Fiber Lasers, and Materials Processing)
Kristjan Leosson, University of Iceland (Nanophotonics, Plasmonics and Metamaterials)
Boris Luk'yanchuk, Data Storage Institute (Nonlinear Optics)
Andreas Mandelis, University of Toronto (Photoacoustic Spectroscopy and Imaging)
Osamu Matoba, Kobe University (Holography and Display)
Robert R. McLeod, University of Colorado at Boulder (Optical Fabrication, Photopolymers, and Microscopy)
Arnaud Mussot, University of Lille (Nonlinear Optics)
Irina Novikova, College of William and Mary (Quantum Optics and Atomic Physics)
Paulo Nussenzveig, University of São Paulo (Quantum Optics)
Jim Oliver, University of Rochester (Thin Film Optics and Laser Damaging)
Luca Palmieri, University of Padova (Fiber Optics and Sensors)
Valentin Petrov, Max Born Institute (Lasers)
Clifford R. Pollock, Cornell University (Tunable Lasers, Optical Waveguide Devices, and Optical Spectroscopy of Solid State Material)
Carsten Rockstuhl, Institute of Solid State Theory and Optics, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena (Metamaterials, Nanophotonics, and Solar Cells)
Jannick Rolland, University of Rochester, USA (Optical System Design)
Hartmut Roskos, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität (THz Technology, and Ultrafast Semiconductor physics)
José Luís Santos, University of Porto (Fiber Optics, Fiber Sensors, and Optical Communication)
Marc Sciamanna, CentraleSupélec, France (Diode lasers/Semiconductor lasers, Nonlinear optics, Chaos)
Lawrence Shah, The Townes Laser Institute, CREOL, The University of Central Florida (Optical Fiber Lasers)
William Shieh, The University of Melbourne (Fiber Optics and Optical Communications)
Wiendelt Steenbergen, University of Twente, The Netherlands (Opto-acoustic Imaging and Spectroscopy, Biomedical Optics)
Guenter Steinmeyer, Max Born Institute and the Optoelectronics Research Centre - Tampere (Ultrafast Optical Phenomena)
Michael Sumetsky, Aston University, UK (Fiber Optics)
Hong-Bo Sun, Jilin University (Laser Nano-fabrication, Ultrafast Spectroscopy, Micro-optics, and Integrated System at Nano-scale)
Chi-Kuang Sun, National Taiwan University (Ultrafast Phenomena, THz Technologies, and Biophotonic Imaging)
Ton van Leeuwen, University of Amsterdam (Optical Coherence Measurements and Biomedical Optics)
Gracie Vargas, University of Texas Medical Branch (Bio-optics, Sensing, Imaging, and Scattering)
Brian Vohnsen, University College Dublin, Ireland (Vision, Adaptive Optics, and Geometrical Optics)
Jianping Yao, University of Ottawa (microwave photonics)
X. Steve Yao, General Photonics Corp, USA (Fiber optics and optical communications; Instrumentation, measurement, and metrology; Optical devices)


Editorial and Production E-mail Phone
Keith Jackson, Peer Review Coordinator olmss@osa.org 202-416-1414
Daniel Franzen, Senior Managing Editor dfranz@osa.org 202-416-1943
Reprints https://caesar.sheridan.com/osa/eoc
Page Charges billing@osa.org

General Information

Copyright permission requests copyright@osa.org
Online Journal Technical Support elec@osa.org
Elizabeth Nolan, Chief Publishing Officer
Kelly Cohen, Senior Publisher
M. Scott Dineen, Senior Director, Publishing Production & Technology
Christopher Videll, Director, Production & Technology
Carmelita Washington, Peer Review Manager
Daphne Greenwood, Senior Director of Marketing & Sales, Publishing
Select as filters

    Select Topics Cancel
    © Copyright 2016 | The Optical Society. All Rights Reserved